Virginia Tech has formed a search committee to oversee a national search for the next vice president and dean for Graduate Education.

The vice president and dean has leadership responsibility for all budgetary, admissions, and program development operations of a centralized Graduate School, and serves as a member of the executive vice president and provost’s leadership team as well as an advisor to several graduate student organizations, including the Graduate Student Assembly, Alpha Epsilon Lambda (honorary society for graduate students), and the Interdisciplinary Research Society.

The new vice president and dean will replace Karen P. DePauw who announced her retirement earlier this year after a distinguished 18-year career at Virginia Tech.

Executive Vice Provost Don Taylor will chair the search committee and guide the application/nomination, candidate review and interview, campus engagement, and finalist selection processes. Search committee members are as follows:

Kayla Alward, graduate student and chair of the Graduate Honor System
Allison Craft, executive assistant to the dean, College of Science
Mark Embree, division leader and professor, Computation Modeling and Data Analytics
Paul Emmons, associate dean for Graduate Studies, Washington-Alexandria Architecture Center
April Few-Demo, department head, Human Development and Family Sciences
Maruf Hoque, president, Graduate Student Assembly
Jungmeen Kim-Spoon, professor, Psychology
Margie Lee, professor and department head, Biomedical Sciences
John McDowell, professor, School of Plant and Environmental Sciences – IGEP
Homero Murzi, assistant professor, Engineering Education – TGE faculty
Annie Pearce, associate professor, Building Construction
Trudy Riley, associate vice president for research and innovation, sponsored programs
Robin Russell, professor and department head, Business Information Technology
Wayne Scales, professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
John Seiler, alumni distinguished professor, Forest Resources and Environmental Conservation
Cliff Shaffer, associate department head for Graduate Studies, Computer Science
Michelle Theus, co-director, Translational Biology, Medicine, and Health
Pam VandeVord, associate dean, Research and Graduate Studies

The search committee will be supported by a staff that includes Amy Hogan, assistant provost for leadership initiatives; Sara Leftwich, manager of dual career programs and special projects; and Leslie Sullivan, coordinator for faculty affairs.

Virginia Tech has engaged Isaacson, Miller to assist with this search and welcomes nominations for the position. For confidential inquiries or to nominate an individual for this position, please email Isaacson, Miller Search. The position description, application/nomination process, and search updates will be posted shortly and available on the Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost website.

Share this story