The Virginia Tech Board of Visitors approved the following promotions, tenure, and continued appointments at its June 4 meeting:

Promotion to associate professor with tenure:

  • Danna Agmon, history.
  • Amy Azano, School of Education.
  • Timothy Baird, geography.
  • Samuel Blanchard, School of Visual Arts.
  • Mark Caddick, geosciences.
  • Maria del Carmen Cana Jimenez, modern and classical languages and literatures.
  • Matthias Chung, mathematics.
  • Jason Crafton, School of Performing Arts.
  • Nikolaos Dervisis, small animal clinical science.
  • Rachel Diana, psychology.
  • Patrick Doan, School of Architecture + Design.
  • William Frame, crop and soil environmental sciences.
  • Curtis Friedel, agricultural, leadership, and community education.
  • Navid Ghaffarzadegan, industrial and systems engineering.
  • Benjamin Gill, geosciences.
  • Erika Grafsky, human development and family science.
  • Silke Hauf, biological sciences.
  • Jia-Qiang He, biomedical science and pathobiology.
  • Nathan Heavers, landscape architecture.
  • Celine Hin, mechanical engineering/materials science and engineering.
  • Steffi Hofer, modern and classical languages and literatures.
  • Laszlo Horvath, sustainable biomaterials.
  • Eunju Hwang, apparel, housing, and resource management.
  • Aki Ishida, architecture.
  • Benjamin Jantzen, philosophy.
  • Melanie Kiechle, history.
  • David Knight, engineering education.
  • Ioannis Koutromanos, civil and environmental engineering.
  • David Kuhn, food science and technology.
  • Christine Labuski, sociology.
  • Robin Lemaire, School of Public and International Affairs.
  • Qiang Li, electrical and computer engineering.
  • Xin Luo, biomedical sciences and pathobiology.
  • John Matson, chemistry.
  • Joel McGlothlin, biological sciences.
  • Philip Olson, science, technology, and society.
  • Dustin Read, apparel, housing, and resource management.
  • Nino Ripepi, mining and minerals engineering.
  • Steven Rowson, biomedical engineering and mechanics.
  • Gabriel Serna, School of Education.
  • Nadine Sinno, modern and classical languages and literatures.
  • Venkataramana Sridhar, biological systems engineering.
  • Trevor Stewart, School of Education.
  • Michelle Theus, biomedical science and pathobiology.
  • Catherine Ulrich, School of Education.
  • Gregorio Valdez, biological sciences.
  • Scott Verbridge, biomedical engineering and mechanics.
  • Xiaofeng Wang, plant pathology, physiology, and weed science.
  • LaDale Winling, history.
  • Guoqiang Yu, electrical and computer engineering.
  • Paola Zellner Bassett, School of Architecture + Design.
  • Haiyan Zhu, sociology.
  • Hongxiao Zhu, statistics.

Tenure at the currently held rank of associate professor:

  • William Becker, management.
  • Christopher Byron, large animal clinical sciences.
  • E. Johan Foster, materials science and engineering.
  • Joseph Gabbard, industrial and systems engineering.
  • Steven Poelzing, biomedical engineering and mechanics.

Promotion to professor:

  • Montasir Abbas, civil and environmental engineering.
  • Janet Abbate, science, technology, and society.
  • Justin Barone, biological systems engineering.
  • Renee Boyer, food science and technology.
  • Randel Dymond, civil and environmental engineering.
  • Alan Ealy, animal and poultry science.
  • Joseph Eifert, food science and technology.
  • April Few-Demo, human development and family science.
  • Matthew Gabriele, religion and culture.
  • Matthew Hulver, human nutrition, foods, and exercise,
  • James Ivory, communication.
  • Yan Jiao, fish and wildlife conservation.
  • Sally Johnson, animal and poultry science.
  • Alexander Leonessa, mechanical engineering.
  • Allen MacKenzie, electrical and computer engineering.
  • Heidi Mesmer, School of Education.
  • Rolf Muller, mechanical engineering.
  • Lydia Patton, philosophy.
  • Rui Qiao, mechanical engineering.
  • John Ruohoniemi, electrical and computer engineering.
  • Webster Santos, chemistry.
  • Tina Savla, human development and family science.
  • Angela Scarpa, psychology.
  • Marc Stern, forest resources and environmental conservation.
  • Dorothea Tholl, biological sciences.
  • John Wells, School of Education.
  • Kris Wernstedt, School of Public and International Affairs.
  • Susan White, psychology.
  • Jinsong Zhu, biochemistry.

Promotion to advanced instructor:

  • Eric Hogan, biological sciences.
  • Victoria Long, chemistry.
  • Edgar Saenz Maldonado, mathematics.
  • David McPherson, electrical and computer engineering.
  • Eric Ufferman, mathematics.

Promotion to senior instructor:

  • Jeannine Eddleton, chemistry.
  • Heath Hart, mathematics.
  • Joseph Scallorns, English.

Promotion to clinical professor:

  • Tanya LeRoith, biomedical science and pathobiology.

Promotion to clinical associate professor:

  • Katie Boes, biomedical science and pathobiology.
  • Shawna Klahn, small animal clinical sciences.
  • Jeffrey Ruth, small animal clinical sciences.

Promotion to associate professor of practice:

  • Travis Burns, large animal clinical sciences.
  • Bryan Katz, civil and environmental engineering.

Promotion to assistant professor of practice:

  • Eric Martin, accounting information systems.

Promotion to collegiate associate professor:

  • Natalie Cherbaka, industrial and systems engineering.
  • Kimberly Daniloski, marketing.
  • Matthew Goodrum, science, technology, and society.
  • Michelle Seref, business information technology.

Promotion to collegiate assistant professor:

  • Cintia Easterwood, accounting information systems.
  • Dana Garner, accounting information systems.
  • Peggy Quesenberry, apparel, housing, and resource management.

Continued appointment at the currently held rank of assistant professor:

  • Ryan Speer, University Libraries.

Promotion to senior Extension agent:

  • Bethany Eigel, Chesterfield County Cooperative Extension.
  • Kelly Mallory, Madison County Cooperative Extension.
  • Kevin Spurlin, Grayson County Cooperative Extension.
  • Jon Vest, Floyd County Cooperative Extension.

Promotion to Extension agent:

  • Terry Alt, Patrick County Cooperative Extension.
  • Katherine Carter, Botetourt County Cooperative Extension.
  • Erin Cox, Grayson County Cooperative Extension.
  • Roy Flanagan, Virginia Beach Cooperative Extension.
  • Jim Hilleary, Loudoun County Cooperative Extension.
  • Kate Lawrence, Botetourt County Cooperative Extension.
  • Sonja Mitchell, Newport News Cooperative Extension.
  • Steve Pottorff, Carroll County Cooperative Extension.
  • Kelly Rose, Dickenson County Cooperative Extension.
  • Kari Sponaugle, Highland County Cooperative Extension.
  • Karrin Temple, Albemarle County Cooperative Extension.
  • Ann Vargo, Chesterfield County Cooperative Extension.
  • Kristina Yager, Henrico County Cooperative Extension.

The Office of the Provost provided the information for this story. Content-related questions should be directed to Cyndi Hutchison at 540-231-2350.

Share this story