As part of its inaugural Academic Integrity Week, the Undergraduate Honor System (UHS) recently recognized members of its Honor Council and faculty and students throughout campus who continue to encourage and promote a culture of academic honesty at Virginia Tech.

During their end-of-year ceremony, the UHS presented honorees with the following awards:

  • Leon Geyer Award, presented to Buddy Howell, visiting assistant professor in the Department of Communication.
    • The award recognizes a faculty Honor Council member who exemplifies the historical significance and dedication that Leon Geyer had in developing Virginia Tech’s Honor System. The faculty Honor Council member is selected based on their participation in discussion during academic meetings, attendance at University Honor System events, and promotion of the Honor System through classroom discussion and assignments.
  • Outstanding Panel Member Service Award, presented to Michelle Dalton, professional lecturer in the Department of Chemistry.
    • This award is given to the panel member — faculty or student — who exhibits an honest and objective atmosphere with students accused of violating the Honor Code. The criteria established for recipients of this award include going above and beyond the minimum service requirements for panel members, engaging with other panel members in an appropriate manner, and critically examining the evidence and activities at panels.
  • Ut Prosim Award, presented to Aly Egan, vice president of the Honor Council.
    • This award recognizes the student Honor Council member who is an outstanding example of a leader within his or her peers. The honoree is one that is always willing to guide and mentor delegates, as well as provides concrete ideas and assistance for programming events. The criteria for this award is exemplary attendance at various outreach events such as classroom presentations, conferences, and educational seminars, as well as making a uniquely positive impact on the group and contributing to the common goal of establishing a strong culture of academic integrity on campus.
  • Academic Integrity and Excellence Award, presented to Robert Scardina, assistant professor of practice in the Charles Edward Via Jr. Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering.
    • This award is given to a faculty member on campus who holds themselves with the utmost integrity and exhibits the ability to detect, report, and prevent academic dishonesty in the classroom. Their service and engagement with students helps to create a culture of academic integrity on campus. The criteria established to evaluate the recipient of this award includes strong communication with the Office of Undergraduate Academic Integrity, use of educational tools in the classroom to prevent cases of academic misconduct, and the continued support of the Undergraduate Honor System throughout the process of case resolution.

During the ceremony, the UHS also announced the induction of five new Honor Council delegates to serve during the 2018-2019 academic year. These students are Joey Hammer, Yussra Mahmud, Andrea Tardif, Cassidy Treanor, and Morgan Weis.

Delegates conduct weekly administrative meetings in which they meet with students who have been reported to the honor system. Honor Council delegates lead educational programs, assist in the training of Honor System personnel, and discuss the honor system process with students and faculty.

Honor Council delegates also represent an elite group of students who are responsible for upholding the academic integrity of the institution.


Share this story