Bart Raeymaekers, professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, has been elected to the European Academy of Sciences and Arts. Raeymaekers and other new members will be formally inaugurated at the academy's plenary session April 6 in Salzburg, Austria.

Raeymaekers and his research group have made fundamental contributions to the field of tribology. As a study of the ways in which surfaces interact with one another, the field combines material properties with the principles of friction and motion for applications such as the wearing of machine parts, wind turbines, and even medical devices. Raeymaeker's work has applied this topic to research in micro and nanoscale lubrication, surface topography, and contact mechanics. 

Additionally, he has developed a research portfolio in advanced additive manufacturing of engineered materials and surfaces. He has leveraged his fundamental research ideas into large, innovative research programs that integrate research, education, and workforce development. As a dual citizen of Belgium and the United States, Raeymaekers has been a strong promotor of research collaboration between the United States and Europe, driving joint projects and exchanges.

He is also a fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.

"Dr.  Raeymaekers brings a wealth of expertise to Virginia Tech, and his recognition in the international community is further demonstration of that proficiency," said interim department head Brian Lattimer. "We are celebrating his induction into this prestigious academy alongside his scientific peers who have highlighted the significance of his contributions through this election."

The European Academy of Sciences and Arts is a nongovernmental, European association committed to promoting scientific and societal progress. Founded in 1990 as a learned society, membership includes leading scientists, artists, and practitioners of governance dedicated to innovative research, interdisciplinary and transnational collaboration, as well as the exchange and dissemination of knowledge. Academy members are elected for their outstanding achievements in science, arts, and governance.

Share this story